News:

This forum is run by RPM and donations from members.

It is the donations of the members that help offset the operating cost of the forum. The secondary benefit of being a contributing member is the ability to save big during RPM Holiday sales. For more information please check out this link: Membership has its privileges 

Thank you for your support of the all mighty FJ.

Main Menu

Oil Leak where right side crankshaft cover.

Started by Loukiii, September 07, 2023, 01:49:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Loukiii

So when I went down back in march and slid on the right side, the crank shaft cover ground off as well as some of the engine casing. Somene suggested I just build up the missing metal with jb weld and put a new cover on. I did. But when I started riding the bike, I noticed oil on my right shoe and found some oil leaking out from behind that cover. So I put some liquid gasket on to seal it but that didnt really work. Then I got to thinking is there even supposed to be oil there to begin with. I mean there was no gasket there before. So there is a rubber cover that seals the crankshaft behind there and it looked to be a little messed up too and I suspect that is where the oil was coming from... So even if I sealed off the metal cover I would probably still be leaking oil inside the engine possibly?

Look at these pictures and tell me what you think.
If you look at the last 3 pictures you can see on the right side where the rubber cover looks to be messed up on the edge.

RPM - Robert

The case halves are machined to each other and have no seal between them. To seal the end of the crank, however, there is the crank seal that you see there. With the machined surface being damaged and the crankshaft seal being forced out of round you won't be able to seal that.

The metal "cover" is just a fascia or a beauty piece to not show the seal. It doesn't seal oil in, the crankshaft seal is what holds the oil back.

Loukiii

Loukiii