News:

This forum is run by RPM and donations from members.

It is the donations of the members that help offset the operating cost of the forum. The secondary benefit of being a contributing member is the ability to save big during RPM Holiday sales. For more information please check out this link: Membership has its privileges 

Thank you for your support of the all mighty FJ.

Main Menu

Clutch Plates Reassembly

Started by Miker, October 13, 2023, 03:14:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Miker

Hi everyone. I'm replacing the clutch plates on my '85 FJ1100 for the first time.  This is my first time working with a clutch basket of this type. I have slowly bolted down the six diaphragm spring bolts in a criss cross pattern and torqued to the recommended 5.8ftlbs.  The diaphragm is now flat against the other plates.   Is this normal?  The clutch is very stiff and I'm not sure it does anything when I pull the lever. I see very little movement when I look over to the clutch basket when pulling the lever. I also accidentally pushed the ball bearing out through the clutch basket side as i had all the clutch plates and slave removed and knocked against the rod from the shifter side.  I reinstalled it by pulling the rod completely out and inserting the bearing followed by the rod on the shifter side. I found this helpful video (https://youtu.be/SPykpBNarDM?si=ZR8hG0sUPB3uI_pQ), but I can't tell if the diaphragm is as flat against the plates as mine. Any help is much appreciated. Thanks!
1985 FJ1100
2003 ZX-12R

racerrad8

Did you replace the most inner clutch disc?

The most inner and most outer discs have a large ID for required clearance.

If you installed the standard disc it either place, the clutch will be engaged all the time.

The diaphragm spring is basically flat when torqued down.

If you had the slave off, you might have allowed air to enter the system and thus the reason you aren't seeing movement.

HTH.

Randy - RPM
Randy - RPM

Miker