News:

This forum is run by RPM and donations from members.

It is the donations of the members that help offset the operating cost of the forum. The secondary benefit of being a contributing member is the ability to save big during RPM Holiday sales. For more information please check out this link: Membership has its privileges 

Thank you for your support of the all mighty FJ.

Main Menu

Tank Bags!

Started by CutterBill, March 15, 2017, 10:07:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CutterBill

I'm a huge fan of the SW-MOTECH tank bags sold by Twisted Throttle (twistedthrottle.com).  They are very well made and use a very clever adapter that fits over the gas cap mounting ring.  The adapter installs with no modifications to the bike, and they make a large number of tank bag models designed to fit specific bikes.  I have been using one on my V-Strom 650 for the last 2 years and I love it.  I simply pull a hidden cord under the bag and it pops right off.  When I'm done filling the gas tank, the bag just snaps back on.  Or... since I store my wallet, camera, phone, and other high-dollar items in the bag, I can just carry it inside the diner with me.  The problem is, Twisted Throttle doesn't show any adapters that will fit an FJ....

Knowing that Yamaha is quite a parts-bin company (they don't change anything) I suspected that one of the adapters for a new Yamaha would fit an FJ.  A little research and a little guessing, and I discovered that the Type 115 adapter is a perfect fit for the flush-cap FJ.  The whole part number is: TRT.00.640.11500/B but if you call and just ask for the 115 adapter, you will get the right one.  It mounts using 4 of the gas cap mounting screws; they even supply the longer screws.  And there is no interference with the gas cap.